I’m leaving for Canada on Thursday. Kevin March, an American Australian and who married into my mother’s side of the family, has composed a full-scale opera “Les Feluettes” (Lilies), a co-commission by Pacific Opera Victoria and L’Opéra de Montréal. He composed it after the book by Québec playwright Michel Marc Bouchard, who is also the lyricist. I thought I should attend the gala opening night of the world premiere on May 21. Especially because it is my cousin who composed the music! Wasn’t that a lovely thought?
So, DH and I are going! To get there we are traveling by train on VIA Rail from Vancouver across Canada. We’ll have about four days of a scenic train ride and about four days to explore the European-like city of Montréal before the big night at the opera house. I’m so excited! The good news is I’ll keep you posted, right here on “Popo Goes Abroad” rebekahstravels.wordpress.com ~ Rebekah

